Hi Gabriel,

I’m doing very well, thanks! How are you? I’ve been watching your project and following the blog for weeks with increasing enthusiasm. I can’t wait to see how it develops.

It would be the perfect thing for my mom, who biked around this city for years in her 20s and 30s (and most of the way through her pregnancy with me, if I understand correctly). She can’t bike now due to having a variety of health problems, but we are hopeful that she will be able to get back to it.

I’ve become pretty passionate about cycling over the last 8-10 years or so, and in recent years my bike has become my primary means of transport to/from my work, grad school classes at night, and routine errands and social visits. I like the freedom it affords me, to get places faster and to interact more fully with my environment and all the people I encounter. Eye contact, a nod or smile here and there, a wave… I get all of these riding around D.C. It’s amazing, how people actually speak to each other when one or both parties is on a bike.

Wishing you the very best from back here in your hometown… : )

Sonja

